Welcome to the Loyola University Newsroom

Loyola at a Glance Faculty/Staff Newsletter

School of Mass Communication to induct alumni in Den of Distinction

April 25, 2014

Three Loyola University New Orleans mass communication graduates—a network TV executive, a nonprofit leader passionate about the common good and a national media director—will be inducted in the Mass Communication Den of Distinction Friday, May 9.

Russell H. Myerson ’76, Veronique Niles Spruill ’80, and Reid I. Steinberg ’94, comprise the Class of 2014 of the School of Mass Communication alumni hall of fame. The Den of Distinction recognizes individuals who have distinguished themselves nationally by a lifetime of accomplishments or by extraordinary achievement. The 2014 inductees will be honored, along with the School of Mass Communication graduating seniors, during an afternoon reception on the 3rd floor of the Communications/Music Complex on Loyola’s main campus.

Myerson is executive vice president of affiliate relations and technology for The CW Television Network. During his career he has worked in communication sales, programming, marketing, distribution, production, finance and technology. Myerson spearheaded the 1997 launch of a 24/7 basic cable network for “The WB Television Network,” a unit of Warner Bros., and helped launch the Game Show Network in 1994. Myerson is the former chairman and CEO of NATPE International. A native of St. Petersburg, Fla., he now lives in California.

Spruill is president and CEO of the Council on Foundations, a national nonprofit association of philanthropic organizations and corporations. She served as president and CEO of the Ocean Conservancy and founded and led SeaWeb, a nonprofit dedicated to advancing ocean issues. Spruill also had a 15-year career in public relations, including five years as senior vice president of Ruder Finn. At Loyola, she studied communications and religious studies, graduating in 1980. She then received a master’s in communications from the University of West Florida. She currently lives in Chicago.

Steinberg is senior vice president and media director at ICON International Inc., a company specializing in corporate barter that is part of the Omnicom Group. He is a member of the Association of National Advertisers. Steinberg studied marketing and advertising at Loyola. He was a member of the first Loyola Ad Team to advance to the finals of the American Advertising Federation’s National Student Advertising Competition with a campaign for Eastman Kodak. Steinberg currently resides in Connecticut.

“Through the Den of Distinction we recognize distinguished alumni who have made their mark in the communications field. We are thrilled with their success and feel fortunate to have been a part of it,” said Sonya F. Duhé, Ph.D., director of the School of Mass Communication.

The Mass Communication Den of Distinction was founded in 2012 to honor outstanding Loyola communication alumni. The 2014 honorees join previous inductees Peter Finney, Sr. ’49, Maurice Guillerman ’58, Gary G. Hymel ’54, Bob Marshall ’71, Judith Reese Morse ’84, John Deveney ’88, Shawn M. Donnelley ’91, and Michael Smith ’01.

More information on the Den of Distinction is available online. For media inquiries, please contact James Shields in the Office of Public Affairs at 504-861-5888.

Loyola at a Glance is written and distributed for the faculty, staff, and friends of Loyola University New Orleans. It is published by the Office of Public Affairs, Greenville Hall, Box 909, 7214 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70118. (504) 861-5888.

Information to be included in Loyola at a Glance must be received 2-3 weeks in advance of the publication date. Send items to Loyola at a Glance, Box 909.